You can define various user rights in timr. At the beginning you should decide which user rights are granted to your employees.
1. User rights for the individual user
In the user settings ("Administration/Users") you can decide which rights an individual user will have.
A user can only track time for himself and also only sees his own time records. In general, he has no administrative rights.
Create tasks: You can define whether a user is allowed to create new tasks (projects). (See also Permissions when adding users). If you don't want to grant an employee administration rights but you would like him to add tasks independently, you can allow him only to add tasks with no other admin rights.
An administrator can track time for himself and for other users. Accordingly, he can also take insight into the time records of other users and can edit those records. Additionally, he has access to the Administration menu.
Note: The account owner automatically is an administrator. Only he is able to extend the account or make an upgrade.
Further permissions are included in the Enterprise Plan. See Permissions for project leaders or for team leaders.
2. User rights which are valid for all users in your account
In "Administration/Settings" you can define some important user rights which are valid for all users in your account.
2.1. Recording time:
This is a very important option. Here you can choose if the employees can independently change the recording time or not. For example, if the employee has forgotten to start it's work at 8 o'clock but he has forgotten to start time tracking, he can still start time tracking and change the start time to 8 o'clock as soon as he realizes his mistake. He could also edit the break time if he has forgotten to pause. If you decide that the employee can't change it, only the administrator can edit the record afterwards and the employee has to inform the administrator in order to make the changes for him.
Usually, we recommend starting with "Recording Time" = "Changeable by user" at least within the first 2 weeks. During this time, each employee can get used to timr and it's instantaneous time tracking approach. It's very convenient if you realize at 8:30 that you've forgotten to start at 8 and you can simply correct your fault without having to bother anybody else to correct the fault.
Note: Every modification of the entries is marked with the symbol: There is no possibility to manipulate an entry without getting marked the change.
2.2. Manual Breaks:
If you want to know the exact time of breaks your employees have to use ‘Start’ and ‘Stop’ in the recording tab. To ensure that your employees do this you can deactivate manual breaks by choosing ‘Not Allowed’.
2.3. Show all tasks:
Here you can choose if each employee can see all tasks or just those tasks assigned to him/her. If you want that employees only see their assigned tasks choose the option ‘No’.
2.4. Show all cars:
The option ‘Show all Cars’ allows you to choose whether employees see only their assigned cars (‘No’) or all cars (‘Yes’).
Article is closed for comments.